Diabetes Doesn’t Take A Vacation

Getting ready for a vacation can be a stressful time, especially being a Type 1 Diabetic. Packing all of your supplies and avoiding a scene at airport security are among the long list of added things a Diabetic must do before they can hit the beach. Here are a few tricks that I’ve learned along the way to make vacationing as a Diabetic go a little more smoothly. When packing for your trip, make sure to throw in some extra supplies in both your suit case and carry on, that way you are prepared if your luggage is ever lost. If you are a pump user, it’s always a good idea to pack extra supplies for a site change. Being at the beach or pool means that your infusion set is more likely to fall out. Then comes getting ready for the airport and security. We always bring along a letter from my doctor incase we run into problems with trying to bring my bottle of insulin on the plane in my carry on. In the last couple of years that I’ve flown on a plane, most security workers are very familiar with insulin pumps and getting through security is breeze. Now comes the actual vacationing part. While enjoying your time on the  beach or by the pool, always keep your insulin or pump in the shade. I use a little freezable pouch to throw my pump in while I’m in the water to keep it out of the heat. Just throw the pouch in the freezer and grab it with you when you head out into the sun! I’ve noticed that they usually stay cold for about five hours! Another trick that I’ve found to be helpful over the years is giving myself a little extra insulin before taking my pump off to be in the water. This helps prevent my blood sugar from rising while I’m disconnected from my pump and not receiving insulin. Lastly, if you’re traveling anywhere in a different time zone, be sure to update the time on your insulin pump and meter! Hopefully these tips can help your vacation be a relaxing, stress-free time!

IMG_0001IMG_8201.jpg

Leave a Reply

